I have always rooted for the underdog.  Maybe I have thought of myself as the “underdog” at various times.  I have also always thought that people should not be mistreated for things that they can not help.  Driving to work the other day, I heard a hip-hop song that moved me.  Looking it up later I was surprised to see that the song is by the same artist who brings us “Thrift Shop,” with lyrics explicit enough that my school-age step sons should not have learned them on the bus.

However, in his song “Same Love,”  the artist Macklemore raps:
“Gay is synonymous with the lesser

It's the same hate that's caused wars from religion

Gender to skin color, the complexion of your pigment

The same fight that led people to walk outs and sit ins

It's human rights for everybody, there is no difference!”

This is certainly a hot topic right now, but I’m not sharing my thoughts about this to begin a debate.  I love to see someone speak out against discrimination, to root for the underdog, and to spread a loving message.  In A Balanced Life I write about living wholly and healthfully.  From atop my digital soapbox I can share my ideas about living with integrity and in alignment with your core values.  Living in that way is impossible if you harbor hate, insecurity, intolerance, or fear within you. No matter what spiritual path one takes, most of us will agree that love is part of it.  I love that this message of love flies across the airwaves. 



Leave a Reply.

    Jennifer Loebel

    Categories

    All